I don’t like Mondays, or do I?


I don’t like Mondays. Well that’s not quite true. I just don’t like the idea of Mondays. The feeling usually starts on Sunday afternoons deep inside the pit of my stomach. It feels as if clouds are gathering in the sky; conspiring to block out the rays of sunlight that are the weekend. This all reaches a crescendo as I make my way to work, key in the door-code, make a cup of tea and sit in the seat I will spend most of the next week in.

The thing is Mondays never turn out to be that bad. My imagination has created such a collage of unremitting bleakness that even a relatively bad day is better than expected and Mondays are hardly ever a bad day. Mostly they’re good.

Like today for instance. I had loads of great customers. Often it is tempting to write about bad customers. Like a bad apple it takes only one, just one, to create a bad feeling for the rest of the day. I had one lady who called to complain about a product. She had every right to be unhappy, but right from the beginning of the call she was polite, courteous and at the end thanked me for my help. These are the customers every call-centre employee loves and will go the extra mile for.

A little politeness definitely goes a long way and helps make Mondays a much better place.

Leave a Reply

