I know it’s not your fault, but….


Like many people I’m no fan of bankers right now, but I can’t help but feel sorry for Natwest, or rather the people who have to work in their call centres.

These are the people who are on an annual salary a city banker wouldn’t blink about blowing in a weekend, yet they are the people who must deal with the anger, panic, the hate, and the fury directed at the bank over issues they have had no part in, or any control over.

One Natwest worker I spoke to summarised their ‘stressful’  week by repeating a phrase they had heard again and again – one which every call centre worker will have heard, and may well make them shudder; “I know its not your fault but…”

It’s a phrase that brought back unpleasant memories to me of when I had to deal with wave after wave of anger, frustration, and disappointment on a daily basis; all the times 4X made mistakes with invoices, or sent out a thousand parcels to people who didn’t order them, or the time a client ran out of refund cheques over the Christmas period, or the times when flowers sent for birthdays, Christmases, anniversaries and Mother’s days turned up at their destination a day late, disheveled, with a miss-spelt greeting, or some such combination of these, and not forgetting the time just before one Christmas when a shipment of personalised children’s books and toys was grounded in Chicago because of snow and ice.. “I know it’s not your fault, but..”

If you call Natwest please go easy on whoever answers the phone – It’s not their fault.

2 thoughts on “I know it’s not your fault, but….

  1. I love you!

    As a fellow prisoner, I mean call centre worker I’m in awe of you. Though you stole my idea. Want to share a book deal?

    Keep up the good work.

    • Thank you – you’re far too kind

      A book deal would be great, and yes I’d be more than happy to collaborate so if anyone out there is listening…. ;o)

      Don’t let me stop you blogging though, for me it was a great way of making it through a lot of tough days on the phones and trying to make some sense of my life – like some sort of therapy!

Leave a Reply

