Secret Diary of a Call Centre: The book!


Right when I started this blog, my main aim was to reveal to as many people as possible what it felt like to be inside a call centre, to be a part of its machinery. It also helped me to feel a lot better, as if my daily trials had some wider point apart from dealing with endless complaints about self-combusting vacuum cleaners.

Some four years on I’ve ended up with a whole load of posts covering many different aspects of call centre life. As it is in blog format though it can be quite hard to navigate and pick out the more interesting bits. For quite a while I’ve been contemplating producing a ‘book of the blog’ type publication and now it feels the time is right.

I’ve actually been working on it for a good few months and it has been quite fun and more than a little illuminating reading through posts which I wrote a few years ago. I’ve also been adding in more biographical material about my relationship with the call centre, and have included a type of running commentary which captures where my views may be different with the benefit of hindsight.  There are still a lot of outstanding details – mainly technical ones – but I’m aiming for a release around October.

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Secret Diary of a Call Centre: The book!

  1. You know I’m a big fan of your blog – a book sounds wonderful! Are you also doing research about call centres in general (on top of what you already have) or are you keeping quite close to the blogs? Whichever way, it sounds like a book many people will find interesting because we all have to deal with call centres, one way or another, and who hasn’t watched The Call Centre? 🙂

    If you need an editor for the book – to look at the structure/format, logical issues, contradiction, redundant parts or missing information – I’d love to be that person! You might not know, but I’m working as a freelance editor. See Book Helpline. I also do proofreading to get the spelling and other errors out.

    Good luck with writing the rest of book!

    • Hey Leeswammes, Good to hear from you. Thanks for your offer of help – I may well take you up on that.

      My ideal would be to include lots more about call centres in general – I think it could even be an interesting book in it’s own right, especially as it will be about other peoples experiences too. I may well still do this, but working 9-5 makes it difficult to do the necessary research.

      What I have done is to draw my posts into more of a narrative structure, ditching a lot of the chaff and including a commentary. I’ve also been working on a lot of new material, though so far this has been a bit of biography – like the story of my first ever call centre job.

      • Work is always in the way of the fun things in life! A combination of your personal story and more general information is possible. For instance, if you have a topic per chapter (e.g., newbies working at the centre, the manager, the colleagues, the customers, the worst stories), then you can give your personal experience followed or interspersed with other people’s experience or even research that has been done about the particular topic.

  2. Ooh. Looking forward to it. That’s only a couple of months away 😀 Can’t wait to read it, I very quickly got out of the call centre environment and have now moved into nursing home care but I like reading your blog because I found the environment weirdly fascinating. ..I just didn’t want to be a part of that.

    • I don’t blame you, you definitely made a good choice! I agree though that there is something fascinating about the Call Centre – for a start it taught me more about people than I think anything else in my life.

Leave a Reply

